You are here


Lesotho is a democratic, sovereign and independent country, totally surrounded by its neighbour, the Republic of South Africa. The former Basutoland was renamed the Kingdom of Lesotho upon independence from the UK in 1966. In 1993, after 23 years of military rule, a new constitution was implemented, leaving the King without executive authority and prohibiting him from engaging in national political affairs4. In 1998, violent protests and a military mutiny following a contentious election prompted military intervention by Botswana and South Africa. Constitutional reforms have since restored political stability and peaceful parliamentary elections were held in 2002. Lesotho is one of three remaining monarchies in Africa (the other two being Morocco and Swaziland).

Lesotho Profile
Lesotho Data Profile

Universities in Lesotho