You are here


SARUA condemns all forms of Xenophobia!
Working towards our Common Future

Southern African Regional Universities Association (SARUA) condemns the appalling human tragedy that has unfolded ( again) in the form of xenophobic attacks in South Africa, in a country with one of the most developed higher education systems on the continent.

It is clear that despite our common histories and experiences of colonial exploitation and our vast post-colonial challenges, there is a huge chasm between the regional and continental “integration” policies and declarations of political leaders versus civil society’s experiences of democratisation, inclusivity, social cohesion and tolerance of others.

Higher education institutions need to take a visible and robust lead in driving change. As sites of cultural diversity, international exchange, knowledge production and innovation, higher education institutions are well placed to become centres of regional and continental identity formation.

SARUA recommits itself to the goals of regional dialogues, integration and collaboration in order to forge a regional identity between higher education actors with a view to claim our common humanity, institution building, development goals and internationalisation at home

Issued by

Piyushi Kotecha
Chief Executive Officer
SARUAPlease conteact for any further information

Statements on the Current Xenophobic Attacks

  1. Zimbabwe Universities Vice Chancellors Association (ZUVCA)
  2. Higher Education South Africa
  3. Ministry of Higher Education and Training, Republic of South Africa
  4. Catholic University of Zimbabwe
  5. Central University of Technology
  6. Durban University of Technology
  7. Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  8. Stellenbosch University
  9. University of Johannesburg
  10. University of Pretoria
  11. University of South Africa
  12. University of the Free State
  13. University of Cape Town
  14. University of Venda
  15. University of the Western Cape
  16. University of KwaZulu-Natal
  17. University of the Witwatersrand
  18. Walter Sisulu University
  19. Rhodes University
  20. Sol Plaatje University