You are here

UFS: History

The University of the Free State (UFS) is one of South Africa's oldest universities, and celebrated its centenary in 2004. The UFS is an important research centre. Our six faculties offer a full range of under- and postgraduate programmes to our more than 25000 students (40% post-graduate), including 2400 international students.

The University values the diversity of its student population and is determined that this diversity is successfully managed as an asset that can add tremendous value to the learning experience of every student of the UFS.

The Chancellor of the UFS is Dr Franklin Sonn, former Ambassador to the United States. The main campus of the University of the Free State is situated in Bloemfontein, the capital of the Free State Province. Bloemfontein is a modern city offering a full range of recreational, commercial and educational facilities and services.

In 2003 UFS incorporate the Qwaqwa campus of the University of the University of the North Eastern Free State, approximately 300 km from Bloemfontein. This campus, located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, offers study opportunities towards a BA, BComm or BSc degree and selected courses in Education. And in 2004 the Bloemfontein campus of the former Vista University was also incorporated into the UFS.