You are here

University of the North West: History

A successful merger

The North-West University (NWU) officially came into being on 1 January 2004 as part of the national government’s broader plan to transform higher education, with the aim of using resources more effectively and addressing past imbalances

The two institutions that came together to create the NWU were the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education and the University of the North-West. Despite the differing backgrounds of the merger partners, the transition to the unified North-West University has been hailed as one of the most successful and stable mergers to date.

Campuses in two provinces

As a result of the merger, the NWU is a multi-campus institution with campuses spread across two provinces, North-West Province and Gauteng. These are the Potchefstroom and Mafikeng campuses in North-West and the Vaal Triangle campus in Gauteng.

NWU vision and values

The vision set for the NWU is to be a “pre-eminent university in Africa, driven by the pursuit of knowledge and innovation.”

The NWU values are the compass that guides the institution towards achieving its vision. Briefly, the university subscribe to the values of human dignity, equality, freedom, integrity, tolerance, respect, commitment to excellence, scholarly engagement, academic freedom and justice.